Talk talk talk

Hail clattered at the windscreen.

“I´m pregnant,” she said. Aren´t you going to speak?”

He didn´t turn to acknowledge her but instead pushed the clutch down into second gear, corrected the wing mirror which had been bothering him the whole journey, and took a deep breath.

“Cat got your tongue?” she said.

“What exactly do you want me to tell you?” he said.

He made eye contact but briefly.

“I mean just what is it exactly that I can say that will make this situation any better?” he said. “I don´t want it. Don’t you understand that at least?”

He signalled to turn off, and let the padded leather steering wheel slide between his fingers. The furry dice swung left and right.

She pulled a packet of cigarettes from her jacket pocket, tore off the seal, and tapped one out.

“I can see you´re going to be a great mum,” he said.

She flipped him a single finger and proceeded to light up.

“Least I can rely on the maintenance,” she said.

“I´m not going to pay a penny. If you think different – speak to my lawyer,” he said and pulled the car to a stop. “Now get out.”

He reached over to open the passenger door and unclicked her seatbelt.

“You bastard,” she screamed. “I won’t be treated like a cheap whore,”

“And I am not your trick,” he said. “Now get out.”

She got out of the car and kicked the door as it closed. The hail pelted her left and right so that she had to use her handbag as a makeshift umbrella.

“Go to hell,” she shouted as he drove off.

He smiled as he watched her hunched figure disappear in his rear mirror before turning on the radio.

The phone rang and when he answered it her voice sounded on the other end.

“How was I?” she said.

“Fine,” he said, checking ahead for speed cameras. “Not opening the window was a nice touch.”

“You were a real bastard like always,” she said.

“Well, we all have our strengths,” he said.

“Same time, next week,” she said.

“Yes,” he said. “Same time, next week. Different scenario. I trust you have the papers.”

“Honey,” she said. “You can rely on me.”

The phone went dead. He drove on.

Leave a Reply

