I say, I say, I say Shakespeare sonnet

 

“My dog does smell, although he has no nose;
he smells not less, though nought he has that smells:
there’s empty space, but yet his scent still shows,
and that is all I really have to tell.”
“Please tell me how he smells, so we may talk
of mysteries that science fences off.
Like Samson when the barber shed his locks
does your pup hold within his nasal sense?
Like Io, Zeus into a cow transformed,
is he all dog, though dogged eyes tell else?
Like Sisyphus, condemned to push his boulder,
is will so strong his lack makes him not weaker?
Without a nose, how does your strange dog smell?”
“To tell you straight, he smells quite terrible.”

Leave a Reply

