Babytalk 1: Extract from ‘The lovesong of J. Alfred Prufrock’ by T.S.Eliot

eliot

 

Apocalypse baby is not far off.  In seven weeks, I will be a daddy. This will be the coolest thing in the whole wide world. It will also signal the end of my world.

From the chrysalis of my past, I will emerge into middle-aged parenting like a  glorious Pop-tart firing out of a wonky toaster.

What use is there for books, I will say, when I have the wisdom of my elders, plus I won’t be allowed a moments peace. Nothing except brainwashing cults and Barney the dinosaur can take away memories though, and that is where poetry comes in. While I am changing baby, or crying myself to sleep knowing my wife is suffering far worse, I can relive the glories of my past reciting babified versions of favourite poems to my wonderful son. The future is bright. That’s why I am going to wear shades to protect my puffy Panda light-sensitive eyes from the burning rays of the sun.

I know baby Pau will inspire material for writing. The creative well of potential false memories and hallucinations caused by sleep deprivation cannot be allowed to go untapped so I plan to keep a pocket-sized notebook and Ikea pencil at hand to barrel the stuff. If drops in lucidity reduce manual dexterity skills or I have my hands full with nappies, bottles and handwipes, I can record my burblings on my smartphone safe in the knowledge that this crude material at the very least might qualify as Dadaist.

So here because I am at heart a jackass is a recording I made trying to babify a well-known section of T.S.Eliot’s The lovesong of J. Alfred Prufrock addressed to my dog, June, who will act as a stand-in until the arrival of little man Pau. The original version is also included.

2 thoughts on “Babytalk 1: Extract from ‘The lovesong of J. Alfred Prufrock’ by T.S.Eliot

  1. Lovely poem for Pau, much preferred your version to the original by T S Elliot. Before you know it, young Pau will be “measuring his life in coffee spoons”! Babies always appreciate some poetry and singing, so you and he will get along just fine.

Leave a Reply

