Archives, archives and more archives

images

 

If you click on the photo, you can discover what Poetry Archive has to offer. I advise going for the celebrity guided tours to begin with. The recordings by individual poets are extensive, and really enjoyable, and can be purchased as an album.

 

PennSound-mag-cover

This ever-growing collection of recordings on PennSound is a lot more eclectic. As always click on the link to find an example of one of the many poets  they showcase. This is definitely one for exploration with an open mind. The Penn in PennSound is the University of Pennsylvania which also runs a Modern American Poetry course on Coursera for those who are interested.

 

cdsN9Odz_400x400

Explore … explore … explore names, forms, and occasions. I like this one though it needs time to make the most of what it has to offer.

And, of course,

youtubelogo

 

 

 

——–

When I am trying to write a poem, I look back at other examples of form in the past. Sometimes it helps and other times it doesn’t. I can’t say that searching for these sites was a great pleasure. It wasn’t. There are so many poetry communities, but in all honesty, I prefer solitude to what is on offer. There is a sterility in archives that make me prefer sleep. There is a richness of choice that makes me prefer pulp novels. There is a school-teacherly tone in many of the best websites that leave me with the impression that poetry is how you train sprogs to sit still and be quiet for long periods of time. Mostly, I dive into these sites, write down what pleases me, and then I head off.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

